Celebrate Life

Celebrate Life Event

Honoring Our Outstanding Volunteers

Volunteers are one of the biggest assets to any non-profit organization. At Southwest Center for HIV/AIDS, our volunteers are the shining stars! The energy, enthusiasm and dedication they bring to Southwest Center make our programs and services possible.

Each year outstanding volunteer leaders are recognized at Southwest Center’s Celebrate Life volunteer appreciation reception In 2016, volunteers provided close to 4,000 hours of time valued at nearly $86,000 as identified by the Independent Sector.

Southwest Center is thankful for the dedicated volunteers who work each day to help support individuals living with HIV/AIDS. From behind the scenes work to assisting at events like Dining Out for Life or acting as the agency liaison at community events, our volunteers make the difference in our client’s lives.

 Celebrate Life Award Categories
Katz Award Recognizes a new volunteer or an emerging leader who has contributed outstanding and dedicated service within the past year, which has benefited the entire agency.

2016 Katz Award Winners
Victor Avila
Victoria Effray
Sean Hesler
Sarah Sydiongco

Baxter Award Recognizes an active individual who has provided ongoing, meaningful and needed contributions to the community in order to increase the visibility of Southwest Center.

2016 Baxter Award Winners
Jason Jones
Don Kline

Merrifield Award Recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to a specific program/department.

2016 Merrifield Award Winners
Michael Cavalier
Troy Eubank
Dr. Wayne Goulet
Matt Pierce

Brodin Award Recognizes an individual who has provided outstanding service by expanding business and community support to a Southwest Center.

2016 Brodin Award Winners
Mark Howard, Bliss/ReBar

O’Dell Award Recognizes an individual or group who has provided outstanding service for a Southwest Center fundraising event.

2016 O’Dell Award Winners
Nina Aponte-Jenkins
Jonatan Armenta
Kurt Barrows
Tom Betz
Kevin Bushaw
Millye Carter-Bloodworth
Auburn Dush
Christine Frazier
Terry Frazier
Rick Gordon
Loren Granger
Heather Jenkins
Chris McLaws
Craig McPike
Crystal Miller
Lauren O’Donnell
Hawa Osman
Wendy Manning
Michael Peters
Daniel Sciortino
Brad Speck
Jimmy Thomason
Tom Thurston

Stahl Award Recognizes a service organization, government entity, foundation or business that has provided financial support for Southwest Center programs, enabling an expansion in the scope and quality of our programs.

2016 Stahl Award Winners
Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) HIV Prevention Team

Spicker Award Recognizes those in the healthcare field that have provided support for Southwest Center services; enabling an expansion in the scope and quality of services.

2016 Spicker Award Winners
Aetna Medicaid
Mercy Care Plan
Mercy Maricopa Integrated Care

Helms Award Recognizes group, organization, or businesses that offer service or non-monetary support to the agency.

2016 Helms Award Winners
Bank of America
Stacy’s @ Melrose

Baily Award Recognizes a community organization, school, college, university that has significantly participated in the delivery of Southwest Center programs.

2016 Baily Award Winners
Goutham Adelli
Noah Altman
Ben Brooks
Brett Caldwell
Shane Ferguson
Jeremy Hayden
Vick Lop
Jaime Lopez
Ben Mach
Trinity Madrid
David Marshall
Hector Melicoff
Josh Merritt
Cristobal Moreno
Devin Pablo
Patryk Podsiadlo
Nando Mireles
Steven Rust
Jason Wynn

Wolfson Award Recognizes an individual who has excelled in a leadership role.

2016 Wolfson Award Winners
Debra Stark

Event Details
Check back soon for the date and time of the 2017 Celebrate Life Event!
2016 Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

Stacy’s @ Melrose
Jimmy Thomason
Jason Jones
Victoria Effray
Brad Speck

Southwest Center for HIV AIDS Logo